Graduating Competitive Students
Graduating Competitive Students

 2014-15 Tennessee State Assessment

 (Testing Dates will be added when the dates are established by the Tennessee Department of Education)

General Education Assessments:


Reading and Math

Per legislation passed by the General Assembly, TCAP will continue to be used as the state's assessments for math and reading/language arts in grades 3-8, as well as in high school End of Course subjects.  The department will issue a request for proposals for assessments in math and reading/language arts for the 2015-16 school year through a competitive bidding process.  The design of the 2014-15 Achievement and End of Course exams will mirror the design of the tests this year.



The TCAP writing assessment will be required for all students in grades 3-11. It will have the same design as the 2013-14 writing assessment, including two passages, one analytic summary essay, and one opinion essay. The rubric will remain the same and it will be given online in all grades.



Social Studies

The new social studies standards, which were passed by the State Board of Education in July 2013, will go into effect as planned during the 2014-15 school year. As previously communicated, there will not be TCAP Achievement or End of Course assessments in social studies during 2014-15. There will be a TCAP field test in 2014-15, and operational social studies testing will resume in the 2015-16 school year.



K-2 Assessment

The K-2 Assessment, formerly known as SAT-10, will be offered again during the 2014-15 school year. It continues to be a district's decision whether or not to offer the K-2 Assessment.



The TCAP science assessments will continue during the 2014-15 school year.


Special Education Assessments:



As previously communicated, Tennessee will no longer use the MAAS assessment, and will instead have supports in place to help students with disabilities access the rigorous, grade-level academic achievement standards through the general TCAP. Tennessee was one of the last remaining states to have an alternative assessment like MAAS, and, like Tennessee, each of these states has worked with the U.S.. Department of Education to transition students to standard assessments.



As previously announced, Tennessee is transitioning from the TCAP-Alternate Portfolio to the National  Center and State Collaborative (NCSC) assessment for the areas of English language arts and math.   Additionally, the TCAP Alternate Science assessment is in development and will replace the TCAP


Alternate Portfolio Science

This alternate assessment will be administered in grades 3-8 and 10th and will be scored locally and reported to the state. Additional information will be shared regarding the scoring and reporting process.



English Learners Assessments:



Students classified as English Learners will continue to have the TCAP English Linguistically Simplified Assessment (ELSA) as an option for the 2014-15 school year.



As a reminder, Tennessee will transition from the current ELDA assessment to the ACCESS for ELLS for measuring English language proficiency. Information concerning ACCESS for ELLS may be found on the wida.us website. Information on logging in to the website, as well as training opportunities is forthcoming.